Jimmy Carpenter


Acclaimed New Orleans sax man Jimmy Carpenter steps out as singer and songwriter

The VizzTone label group is proud to welcome JIMMY CARPENTER to the family! Jimmy is one of the busiest sax players in New Orleans, widely known as a blues, R&B, soul and rock’n’roll player and arranger. WALK AWAY is Jimmy’s second solo album, showcasing his talents as a songwriter and vocalist on 13 original rockin’ R&B songs, featuring some of New Orleans’ finest musicians. Jimmy currently plays regularly with Mike Zito and The Wheel, Walter Wolfman Washington, Honey Island Swamp Band, Billy Iuso, and many more. Jimmy is a two-time 2014 Blues Music Award nominee for Best Instrumentalist/Horn, andBest Rock/Blues Album for his work on Mike Zito and The Wheel’s Gone to TexasCD. His horn arrangements can be heard on Walter Washington’s Howlin’ Live at DBA, Honey Island Swamp Band’s Wishing WellGood to You, and Cane Sugaralbums, Eric Lindell’s Gulf Coast Highway, and numerous others.


 WALK AWAY features personal songs reflecting an intense period in Carpenter’s private life. He explains in the liner notes:     "This collection of songs comes from the most prolific 6 months of my life. As you can probably guess, there was a woman involved, (actually several: past, present, and future). My unrequited passions, and my sometimes obsessive preoccupation with them, fueled song after song. It was quite extraordinary, and eventually I had written more than 20: some happy, some sad, but all with my heart on my sleeve. As the last line in On the Outside says, 'I got way more passion than sense...'"     WALK AWAY was produced in New Orleans, LA by Chris Finney andJimmy Carpenter. Musicians include: Jimmy Carpenter on saxophones, vocals, rhythm guitar and tambourine; John Fohl on guitars; John Groson keyboards; Casandra Faulconer on bass; drummer Wayne Maureau; percussionist Michael Skinkus; and Antonio Gambrell on trumpet. There are also guest starring appearances by vocalist Reba Russell, and guitarists Anson Funderburgh and Mike Zito.